Cookiepolicy at

This site uses cookies to function properly. If you continue to browse the site, you automatically accept our use of these cookies. You can read more about the cookies set by the shop in our general section on the cookie policy, as well as read more about the store's terms and conditions.

0,00 EUR

Coleburn Whisky


Coleburn Speyside Whisky (Closed)

Coleburn Distillery was a Scottish whisky distillery located in Longmorn, Moray, in the Speyside region. Here are some key points about Coleburn Distillery:

  1. Foundation: Coleburn was founded in 1897 by the Coleburn Distillery Company Ltd., and it began production in 1899. The distillery was situated not far from the River Lossie.

  2. Ownership Changes: The ownership of Coleburn changed hands a few times over the years. In 1916, the distillery was acquired by Clynelish Distillery Company Ltd. Then, in 1919, it became part of Distillers Company Ltd. (DCL), which later became part of Diageo.

  3. Closure: Unfortunately, like many other distilleries, Coleburn fell victim to the industry's challenges and underwent periods of closure. The distillery was mothballed in 1931 and remained inactive for several decades.

  4. Reopening and Final Closure: Coleburn experienced a brief reopening from 1965 to 1985, during which it produced whisky for blending purposes. However, it was closed for the final time in 1985 and has not resumed production since then.

  5. Buildings: The buildings of Coleburn Distillery still stand, but the distillery itself is silent. The site has not been demolished, and some structures, including the pagoda roof, can still be seen.

  6. Collectors' Item: Since its closure, Coleburn whiskies have become sought-after collector's items, as they are no longer produced. Bottles from the distillery's active period are particularly prized by whisky enthusiasts.